Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor


SHORSTEIN, LASNETSKI, & GIHON
helps people defend against
Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor
allegations.
A lesser included offense of child abuse and a charge that is often brought against adults who provide minors with alcohol, cigarettes or controlled substances, Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor charges shouldn't be taken lightly.  Call us to discuss your Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor case.

What is Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor?

Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor is defined in Florida Statute Section 827.04(3).  To prove that you are guilty of Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor, the State must prove:
  • You knowingly committed an act that caused, tended to cause, encouraged, or contributed to the minor to become a delinquent child, a dependent child, or a child in need of services, or
  • you induced or endeavored to induce, by act, threat, command, or persuasion, a child to commit or perform nay act, follow any course of conduct, or live in a manner that causes or tends to cause such child to become or remain a dependent or delinquent child or a child in need of services.

Who is considered a child?

Anyone under 18 years of age.  Even by 1 day.


What is the potential sentence for Contributing to the Delinquency of a Child?

Contributing to the Delinquency of a Child is a First Degree Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in jail. 

What are the possible defenses to Contributing to the Delinquency of a Child?

The most common defense to Contributing to the Delinquency of a Child is that the child became delinquent on their own, or based on the actions of someone else, and not by any action of yours.  Of course, every case is different and the State must prove that the act they claim contributed to the delinquency actually occurred.  Oftentimes, the only evidence that the act occurred is the testimony of the delinquent child.  Call us today to discuss the possible defenses unique to your case.


What if I'm 21 years or older and I got an under aged girl pregnant?

Florida Statute Section 827.04(3) specifically deals with a person 21 years of age or older who impregnates a child under 16.  It is considered child abuse and a third degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison.  The State can also file more serious Lewd and Lascivious or Sexual Battery charges as well.

It is not a defense to claim that the child had been sexually active with other people or that the child consented to sex. 

If you or a loved one has been arrested for or accused of
Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor,

Call Shorstein, Lasnetski & Gihon Now!

904-642-3332 (Jacksonville)
or
407-228-2019
(Orlando). 

Contact Us 24/7 Se habla Español